Borax – Great for so many different things…

BoraxPurex provided me with a sample of 20 Mule Team Borax so I could review it. However, all of the opinions expressed here are my own.

This time I was given the opportunity to review Borax, which I have read/heard about for a while but never tried. I first off had heard it was similar to OxiClean or Baking Soda in that it helps bleach so I wanted to try it when stripping my diapers. After a little research I found that there are about 50/50 that say to use it and not use it. It seemed to work fine for me, bleached my diapers well enough with no funky smell or after-residue.

After dealing with a sick 6 month old, I also found that Borax is great for cleaning up pretty much anything… as my carpet that was doused with internal liquid is now clean and sparkly (not really… but you know what I mean). 😛

There are seriously so many ways you can use Borax around the house… Sanitizing the sink, pots and pans, oven, microwave, tile/grout, china, sprinkling in diaper pail to neutralize the odor… the list goes on and on. I am going to dilute it in water and put into a spray bottle, and mist my diapers when they are sunning on the line to get a little extra boost of bleach.

Some other facts:
-Borax is 100% natural mineral from the earth.
-Common name for sodium tetraborate, which is a naturally occurring substance produced by the perpetual evaporation of seasonal lakes.
-Nothing is added; no phosphates, chlorine or other additive chemicals. Once Borax is removed from the ground, it is washed, dried and boxed for consumers.
-Naturally softens hard water! Over 85% of homes have “hard water”.
-When added to laundry, it improves your detergent’s cleaning power, and helps keep stains from being re-deposited back onto clothes.
-Visit their website www.20muleteamlaundry.com for more information and where you can buy Borax.

What do you use Borax for? First 2 to answer get a coupon for a free box of 20 Mule Team Borax!

Also check out the Borax Fresh Year, Fresher Laundry Sweepstakes for your chance to win cash and/or free Borax! 🙂

keywords: laundry, laundry booster, cleaning tips, how to do laundry, remove stains, purex

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tori
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 21:56:35

    I’ve been using it as a laundry booster. Also, I mixed some up with sugar water and we use it as ant poison during the summer when they always seem to find their way inside. That was on Pinterest!

    Reply

  2. Crystal H
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 00:45:58

    I use it to clean my kitchen and bathroom. I have also tried it as an ant killer…but I think we did it wrong.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

