The 2nd Half 6 Month Challenge!

Mama, what do you need all these cards for?!

In order to curb our spending habits and try to get out of some debt and save up for a new car for me, Ben and I have decided to challenge ourselves to save money these next 6 months. So…. that means we are getting rid of “non-necessities” including:

– Satellite TV (rabbit ears, here we come!)
– Home phone
– Satellite Radio
– Netflix
– Eating out more than once a week (including lunch!)
– Unnecessary driving (try to carpool?) to save gas/fuel (Diesel is over $4/gallon!!!!)
– Credit Cards – the great card-cut-up!
– The extra motorcycle (Yamaha, anyone?)
– No more racing every weekend (okay, so it’s getting hot out and Ben does this every summer anyways… but you racers are expensive! This should save us a little $ if anything for Fall racing season…)
– Starting a $20/wk personal and $50/week grocery allowance (includes CVS! D’oh!)

In order to keep myself busy so I don’t do any “Bored-so-I-Go-To-Target” shopping, I pledge to work on my garden, sewing, blogging, Carter, polishing my housekeeping skills (yay) and photography.

I challenge YOU to join our challenge! Any other ideas on how to curb spending?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:33:10

    I’ve been trying to do this for almost a year now. 😦

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 17:42:43

    Wow only $50 a week in groceries? I can’t remember ever doing that!

    Reply

  3. Kimm
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:18:51

    We totally need to do this. Great idea.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The 2nd ½ challenge – LIBERATION! « Cycra's Life
  5. Trackback: The 2nd ½ challenge – LIBERATION! « Cycra's Life

Leave a Reply

