Klippin’ with Kara Part 2: Organizing your Coupons

I’m sure there are hundreds of different ways you can organize your coupons. I have tried 2 different methods that have worked for me.

At first I used a small accordian file, but as I was clipping all inserts, that space grew too small in no time. So I graduated to “The Binder.”

The Binder is made up of baseball card holders, where you put your clipped coupons, so you can see the amount and the expiration dates. This worked well for me for a long time, I would take it in with me to the stores; in the front I kept a space where I had already pulled some coupons that I knew there were deals for, and then if I found a deal I hadn’t planned on I had all my coupons at my fingertips. I did get a few “looks” but I also got a couple compliments from other shoppers.

When I got pregnant, keeping up with the clipping was harder (lost motivation) so I migrated towards the filing method. Instead of clipping all of the coupons and putting them in The Binder, I instead marked the date of the insert on the front and put them in a 3 ring binder with clear plastic sheaths. That way, when I go through the other blogs and they list a deal, they usually list where to find it (i.e. SS 2/20 or RP 1/30, etc.) Just go to that particular insert (Smart Source from February 20 or Red Plum from January 30) and find your coupons.

Now that I’m getting back into couponing again, I do a little of both methods combined. I still mark the date on the front each insert and put in the 3-ring binder, but now I will go through them and clip which ones I know I will use so I have them in The Binder. I also keep all my internet coupons and other non-insert coupons I get in The Binder.

As I said, this has worked for me but it may not work for you. You may have a different method you find that works for you! If so, please feel free to comment and leave details for others. Maybe it will work for them too! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tori
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 14:36:31

    I use filing, but I think I’ll have to try a combo, too. It definitely seems like it would be easier to just clip the ones that you KNOW you’ll use. I’ll just need to find a way to transport them, something smaller than a binder would be nice.

    Reply

    • Kara
      Feb 19, 2011 @ 18:45:02

      You might try the small accordian files? It worked well for me in the beginning… that way you could just throw it in your purse or have sections for what coupons you’ve already pulled. I might try that again… 🙂

      Reply

  2. Tori
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 17:32:37

    Where’s a good place to find one?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

