My Starbucks Addiction…


Yes, I admit it. I am addicted to Starbucks. Not just coffee in general, mind you, but specifically Starbucks. I don’t know what they put in their drinks to make me keep going back for more, but whatever it is, it’s working.

I usually get a lot of gift cards for SB for birthdays, thank yous, holiday gifts, etc. (thanks friends!) but this summer I found a way to save a little $ (and get some free drinks!)

If you haven’t heard, Starbucks has a relatively new program called My Starbucks Rewards where you register a gift card, and each time you use it you get discounts and eventually free drinks… You can create an account, and every time I get a new GC I transfer the balance to the card I have listed in my account (which permanently resides on my keychain.)

When you sign up you automatically get a free drink on your birthday. After 5 uses, you start getting discounts like free flavors added, free milk selection (like soy), which is usually like 50¢ and 60¢, respectively, free refills on brewed coffee, etc. After 30 uses you start earning free drinks (after every 15 uses after that). Bring your own cup and that’s another 10¢ off… so each time I order my Grande Decaf Peppermint Mocha, I save 60¢ (50¢ for the flavors and 10¢ for the reusable cup)! It may not seem like a lot, but it adds up… especially when you start going every day… yikes…so with the $30 in SB gift cards I got for Christmas I could get an extra drink or two out of it! Whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

