Cloth Diapering 101

Since I decided to do cloth diapering with Carter, with the exception of a small group of friends, most people when hearing that get a disgusted look on their face and sarcastically say, “Good luck with that…” I’ve always been one to take on challenges, and it’s funny, cloth diapering has definately NOT been a challenge!

I’ve been using cloth pretty much since he came home from the hospital. I do have a small stash of different sized disposable diapers for “emergencies” or if we have a babysitter, or go somewhere where disposable would be just a little more convenient. But for the last few weeks, we really haven’t used a disposable diaper, so I’m just used to the softness and size of the cloth.

The other night, though, I had somewhat of a wake up call – I had washed the diapers that day and hung them out to dry, but forgot to bring them in before we went to bed. So at 2 AM I had to resort to using disposables. I remember picking one up and being surprised at how rough it was. I put it on Carter, and as I was trying to pull the tab up to fasten, it was stuck and wouldn’t come up. After a couple pulls, it tore from the diaper. (At 2 AM with a screaming newborn a few choice words slipped out.) Threw that diaper away, grabbed another and was able to get the tabs unstuck. Carter seemed so uncomfortable with this paper “thing” wrapped around his heiny, I felt bad for him! The next time he woke up, it was poopville and it was everywhere… I haven’t had a “blow out” using cloth. Then and there I decided I was done with disposables.

For those of you who don’t know anything about “new” cloth diapers, they are very different than the ones we grew up with. There are no pins or soaking in chlorine, instead there are snaps and velcro with inserts or all-in-one diapers or prefold with waterproof covers… Easy to use – if wet, throw in the Diaper Champ or wet bag. If poopy, spray it out with a handy-dandy “Mrs. Bidet” that is connected to the toilet, and throw in the Diaper Champ, and wait until you have enough to do a load of laundry. (I have not seen any significant change in my water bill.) Hang to dry or dry in the dryer on low heat.

 

The advice I have been given is to go with the snappie diapers as opposed to the velcro, they seem to last longer. I have found some comparable cloth diapers (to bunGenius) on eBay that cheaper and are working great. I also have the prefold ones that I made, although Carter is slowly growing out of those and they are being passed on to cousin Giuliana (lucky her!) which means I may have to make some more in a bigger size.

I have also noticed that whenever I use 2 or 3 disposables in a row, Carter gets diaper rash. Never had diaper rash using cloth.

We figured out that if you use disposables and go through approximately 1 pack of  diapers a week, at regular price about $10 a pack, 52 weeks, you save about $520 dollars a year. Depending on how many cloth diapers you buy, that’s a great savings. I got mine as shower gifts so I didn’t pay anything out of pocket, so we have significant savings. BUT if I had paid, we got these for about $4 a diaper (bumGenius, etc. are between $15-$20/diaper), and they can be reused up to 35 pounds (they grow with the child, so we’re guessing about 3 years) so that would save about $1500 before he is potty trained. Obviously that cost savings varies with each situation. But in summary, I am very happy with my experience of using cloth diapers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alley
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 17:06:13

    Very interesting! I was unaware of the pros and cons! Good job mommy!!!!

    Reply

  2. Ramona
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:44:06

    Thank you for saving Carter’s bottom and the environment

    Reply

Leave a Reply

