Happy New Year!

Well, you’ve probably noticed that I’ve taken a small vacation from blogging to, ya know, have a baby… I don’t really believe in New Year’s Resolutions, but one goal I have for 2011 is to get back on the blogging horse and help my friends and family continue to save money! I’ve done a slight revamp of the blog, kind of a new look for the new year. So here’s to 2011, a year full of savings and getting to know my new and improved family!

Catching Up

As most of you know, it was a struggle for Ben and I to get pregnant but of course God’s timing is always better than our own, and little Carter Thomas was born on November 24th at 11:20 am, a whopping 8 pounds 14 ounces and 21 inches long!… I have to say so far the happiest moment of my life!

I’m off work on maternity leave for 6 weeks, I can’t believe that 5 of those weeks have already flown by! My little baby is not so little anymore… at his last appointment he weighed in over 11 pounds! He is out of the 0-3 month clothes and on to the 3-6, and he’s even worn a 6 month onesie already. Yikes.

I’ve tried several times to do some newborn photos but Carter for some reason takes after his dad when it comes to wanting his picture taken… I know, strange being my kid and all… so I haven’t gotten half the ones I wanted, but thus is the way of a newborn! Hopefully he’ll start cooperating as the months go on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I’ve got a little bit of cheer, a little bit of family news… I must post something about savings! I have been able to get Similac formula for 50¢ a quart thanks to my neighbor who gave me a stack of $5 off coupons. The quarts are $5.49 at Target, so I’ve gone a few times this week to stock up since the coupons expire 12/31…

My Goals

My goals for 2011 are:
1) Get back on the CVS bus and keep track of my savings
2) Simplify and eliminate some of our unnecessary bills so we can start saving money to get a new car (I want to get a Honda CRV) and get rid of some of our credit card debt.
3) STOP EATING OUT! I know I’ve given myself some lee-way (sp?) since when I was pregnant I didn’t feel like cooking and with the newbie I haven’t really been able to organize myself and get the time to plan ahead.
4) To go along with the stop eating out, start eating healthier and start working out. Thinking about trying the P90X…

What are your goals for 2011?

Leave a Reply

