Bountiful Baskets!

White baskets held fruits, green baskets held veggies...

I have been wanting to try Bountiful Baskets Co-Op for some time now, and finally after sampling their delicious bread (thanks Alicia!) decided to give it a try on my own. I tried to sign up last week but the location by my house wasn’t available, but this week it was. Paid $15 for the fruit and veggies and $10 for the 5 loaves of bread.

 

Got all this for $15

In my baskets I got:
1 head Romain Lettuce
1 head Cabbage
1 head Celery
3 Tomatoes
4 Potatoes
2 Green Peppers

 2 lbs Black Seedless Grapes
2 lbs Peaches (7 total)
16 oz container of Strawberries
2 lbs Plums (19 total)
4 lbs Bananas (9 total)
6 lb Melon

I priced it out as if I would have gotten it from the grocery store this week, and it would have cost about the same at Sprouts, and about $7 more at Fry’s. It was very nice to be able to just show up and pick it up and not have to worry about going to a bunch of different stores to get the best pricing! Now I know that sometimes you get stuff you may not want and/or eat, but for my first time participating I am very happy. 

Awesome 9 grain bread! $2/loaf

Also got 5 loaves of their awesome 9-Grain bread for $10. You would probably pay at least $2.50/loaf or more in the grocery store.

And the best part is, you get all of this locally so you are supporting your local farmers and ulitmately local economy! Yay!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tori
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 12:29:09

    We got a different melon than you did! It’s called a Santa Claus melon, I’m excited to try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

