Slight vent for a Wednesday…

So I just have to vent for a minute…

*begin rant*

If I hear one more person say to me or Ben, “Oh man, your life is over now, you might as well sell your bike… you’ll never go riding again… you’ll never go camping again… you’ll never do this or do that again…….blah blah blah” I think I am going to scream. Or slap said person.

Why can’t you just be positive, happy, say Congratulations? We didn’t ask your advice or your opinion. You probably have a different lifestyle than ours and really know NOTHING about it. Yes, we understand that we will most likely have to scale back on some activities that we frequently do now, especially in the beginning, or make adjustments, but I REFUSE to accept the “your life is over once you have kids” mentality. I am going to appreciate the fact that kids will ENHANCE my life, not RUIN it!

Cheesy rice.

On a side note, my little garden culprit has gotten into my green beans. Argh.

*end rant*

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tori
    May 26, 2010 @ 14:25:04

    While it’s true that there is definitely a lifestyle adjustment, I’ve always hated the idea that kids “ruin” your life. The fact is I was more than happy to make the adjustments necessary, even when it was difficult and stretched me. So you decide what things you give up, what things you scale back on, and what things are important enough to you to stick with and you move on.

    There are things that Paul and I used to do (or used to do more often), but I would never trade my girls to have those back.

    All that to say I agree with you, and you rant all you need to girl! People should be HAPPY for you!

    Oh, and you can certainly camp with kids, it’s just easier before they’re mobile LOL

    Reply

  2. JuFi
    May 26, 2010 @ 14:35:02

    The feelings I emoted and smile on my face in the photos from last Sunday say it all…I truly meant that bone-crushing hug when I found out about your little peanut. =)

    Reply

  3. Anni Fischer
    May 26, 2010 @ 15:09:03

    Kara – Congrats to you and your husband. As your mom and dad can atest to, life does change when you start a family, but I believe it changes in a positive way. I even did the single parent route (which was so hard) but I wouldn’t have changed it for the world. I love my daughter!!

    There is not reason that you can’t still do to fun things you want to do…you just have to plan more now. You go sista! I am very proud of you.

    Anni

    Reply

  4. Becky
    May 26, 2010 @ 17:17:34

    Kara,
    Big Congratulations! It’s a sad society that puts human life on the back burner to materialistic lifestyles, but that is the state of affairs we live in. You’re fortunate that you understand the bigger picture and the greater gift — so many will miss out on this their entire life.

    I agree with Tori — while life changes, it’s a change you would never in a million years alter. One of the greatest things about becoming a mother is how much better you become as a person… and how amazing it is to fall in love with your husband all over again when you see him be a father. Blessings to you both. Try as hard as you can to just shrug off those who are misguided. They deserve pity more than anything because they don’t view parenthood and the gift of new life the way we are so blessed to view it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

