Our first Garden!

 So I have been wanting to plant a garden for months, but have kept putting it off and putting it off… until finally I realized the planting season for spring here in AZ is pretty much over, so I had to bite the bullet and get it done! (And Lowe’s was having a B1G1 free plant and seed sale, so of COURSE I couldn’t pass THAT up…! 😉

Before

The area I had to work with is about 15 x 8′ big, it was where the old shed used to be, and the dirt was tough as concrete. I found an old pick-axe that Ben had in the shed, though, and went to work. After about 2 digs (what do you say you do with a pick axe? Thrusts? Picks?) I thought… hmmm… maybe I’ll start small and just do 1/3 of the garden… yeah that’s a great idea… With elbow grease and the help of a little water, I was able to get that 1/3 area “tilled” enough for my purposes. Joanna met me at Lowe’s, we mixed a couple of bags of mulch and voila! Garden soil! 

Midway

 I had to wait until Ben’s muscles got home to help really mix the dirt (since I’m such a wimp, or something like that). He also was going to build the fence for me so that Cycra isn’t able to get in and munch on my veggies. He built an awesome fence with a “cattle guard” gate and everything. Needless to say, I am sufficiently impressed… 

The fence!

Cycra hard at work

… and I finally get to plant! I got 2 Tomato plants (one cherry, one Big Boy), 2 Strawberry plants, and a Stevia plant, and seeds for Green Beans, Corn, Canteloupe, Zucchini Squash and Cucumbers for the Spring planting. I also got seeds for Watermelon, Broccoli, Lettuce, Carrots, Sunflowers, Pumpkins, and a couple other for the Fall planting (hey, they were B1G1!) I think I am going to do Potatoes too in Fall… 🙂

Finally planting!

The final product!

So excited to see what grows! I am also starting a compost, so hopefully by Fall I should have some nice organic soil to expand my garden and won’t have to buy any… that will be nice… 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa @SavingCentswithSense.net
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 15:39:56

    Looks great! It was that same sale that got me going on our garden last year- it is addicting 🙂 I love growing everything and it is just amazing to see the progress.

    Good luck and keep me updated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

