Walgreens trip 1-7-10

Like I said I’m not a big fan of Walgreens as their policy makes it somewhat difficult to snag great deals since you have to have the same amount of coupons as you do items (so if you have a manufacturer coupon and a Walgreens coupon – which you can stack together for one item – you have to find a filler item since you have 2 coupons but only 1 item… so sometimes it’s not worth it…)

I really planned this trip out though since there were some things I needed to get anyways that don’t have coupons ($26 worth), and a LOT of free stuff. I thwarted another lazy Walgreens cashier too! Ha ha the victory is soooo sweet….. 😉

2 Transactions

First transaction
Contour Glucose Meter and Breeze2 Glucose Meter
Regularily $69.99, both on sale for $14.99 ea
Used 2 “Up to $30” off coupons
= FREE
Original total = $139.98
Paid tax
Got back $13 in Register Rewards (coupons like cash you can use on your next purchase)
Am donating both of these to the nursing home down the street

Second Transaction
Neosporin Lip Health x 2 regularily $5.49 each, on sale for 2/$8 ($4 ea)
Used 2 $3 off coupons
Got back $3 in RR
= +$1 moneymaker

Stayfree x 2 regularily $6.29 ea
Used Buy One Get One Free coupon
Stacked with $3 off Walgreens coupon (took off $6)
= 29¢ for both

Nabisco Saltine Crackers x 2 regularily $1.99 on sale for 99¢ ea
Used $2 off 2 coupon
= FREE
(This is where the Walgreens cashier tried to deny me. First, he said I couldn’t use it because the picture was for Ritz crackers, not saltines, and tried to hand it back to me. I nicely pointed out that it said “ANY” Nabisco crackers. Then since the coupon was technically for more than the price and it beeped and he refused to mark the coupon down, and tried to hand it back to me. So I asked him to call the manager. While we were waiting for her, he said to me, “She’s not going to accept it.” I said, “There’s no reason she shouldn’t. The manufacturers pay you back anyways, you aren’t losing any money.” He said, “Well, it’s up to her discretion.” I said, “Okay.” The manager came up and adjusted the price.  HA!)

Reach Floss x 2 regularily $3.79 ea
Used B1G1 free coupon and $1 off coupon (for the one I wasn’t getting free)
Stacked with $2 off Walgreens coupon (took off $4)
= +$1.21 moneymaker

Revlon Matte Eye Shadow x 2 regularily $4.99 ea
Used 2 $2 off coupons
Stacked with $3 off Walgreens coupon (took off $6)
= FREE

Original total = $70.46
Sales = -$4.98
Coupons = -$39.08
Register Rewards from Transaction 1 = -$13
TOTAL out of pocket = $13.40 + tax

And I still have $3 left of RR from the Neosporin deal, which I will use at a different Walgreens tomorrow since there were 2 or 3 other items that will end up free but they were out of stock (dishwasher detergent, cookies, toothbrushes and hair stuff).

Leave a Reply

